Sports Faith International

2015 Inductees

Sports Faith International

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                                                       
For  Information Contact: 
Angela Tomlinson: 847. 331.6994               



April 29. 2015 - LAKE FOREST, Ill. — Sports Faith International announced the induction of twelve outstanding athletes and people of faith into the 2015 Sports Faith Hall of Fame.

The Induction festivities will be held on Pentecost Sunday, May 24th, 2015.  A VIP Meet and Greet  Receptionwill be held at the Lincolnshire Marriott Resort  in Lincolnshire, IL from 10:30 am-11:30 am,  followed by theLuncheon and Induction Ceremony which will conclude at 1:15 p.m Sunday Mass will begin at 2:30 p.m. at the Church of St. Mary, in Lake Forest, Ill.  
Tickets to the events may be obtained at the Sports Faith International website  or by calling Angela Tomlinson at 847.331.6994.

The annual awards ceremonies, offered in conjunction with Catholic Financial Life,  The Brach Family Charitable FoundationWSFI Catholic Radio, Catholic Athletes for Christ, Prayers for Life Frank J Casella, Pictures People Listen to, and Impressions Count honor world-class athletes who are known for outstanding dedication to sports and their faith. 

The Sports Faith Hall of Fame was created in 2008 by Sports Faith International in order to recognize and encourage excellence in sports and in the Catholic Faith. By providing a forum for the inductees to share their personal stories and accomplishments, the organization’s hope is many will be inspired to aim ever higher.

2015 Inductees are Bear WoznickTwo -Time World Champion Tandem Surfer and Deep Adventure RadioCatholic Evangelist and Author; Bob Cousy, National Basketball Association Boston Celtics and Cincinnati Royals, and NBA Hall of Fame, Bonnie Blair Cruikshank,  Four -Time Olympian with five gold medals and one Bronze Medal, Author of Wellspring of Hope, Cardinal Stritch University 2013 National Championship  Basketball Team, Chris Ledyard,  Athletic Director at Franciscan University in Steubenville, NFL Hall of Fame George Connor, Boxing and Kickboxing Champion and Catholic Evangelist, Jesse Romero, Former NFL   and Varsity Football Coach of Loyola Academy, John Holocek, University of Notre Dame Heisman Trophy Recipient, John Lattner and New Jersey Coaches Hall of Fame and  a Catholic Athletes for Christ, John McKenna.  The Saint Viator Varsity Lacrosse Team in Arlington Heights in Illinois is the recipient of the Prayers for Life, Pro-Life Award

Sports Faith International was so impressed with the accomplishments of Father Smyth, whose life bears testimony to the world-changing power of combining the virtues and influence of sport with mountain-moving faith, an award, was named in his honor. Known as the Fr. John P. Smyth Award, it is awarded annually to an outstanding Catholic athlete or coach pursuing a religious vocation.  This year’s award will honor Fr. Ted Schmitt, posthumously, who served as Chaplain to the Varsity Football teams at  St. Patrick High School inChicago and Nazareth Academy in LaGrange Park, IL, as well as the boxing industry in Las Vegas.

For more information on the Sports Faith Hall of Fame and Sports Faith International or to ask questions, or email Angela Tomlinson           

More Info:  The Sports Faith Hall of Fame was created in 2008 by Sports Faith International to recognize world-class athletes who are known for outstanding dedication to sports and their faith. Sports Faith International is a new media initiative dedicated to utilizing traditional and new media to showcase the connection between sports and faith. Programs for Catholic and mainstream media networks will feature some of the biggest names in the world of sports. Sports have been called a metaphor for life that can teach perseverance, discipline, loyalty, trust, dedication, and fair play. The shows will serve as a platform to discuss the many virtues and life lessons that can be learned from sports. It is part of BVM HELPING HANDS, a 501(c) 3, tax-exempt organization.

 #      #     #

Congratulations 2015 Sports Faith Hall of Fame Inductees